Directory

Faculty

Operations and Research Staff

Postdocs/Visiting Scientists | Graduate Students | Undergraduate Students

Faculty

Richard Allen

Director
rallen@berkeley.edu

Doug Dreger

Associate Director
ddreger@berkeley.edu

Norman Abrahamson

Civil and Environmental Engineering
abrahamson@berkeley.edu

Alexandre Bayen

Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
bayen@berkeley.edu

Jonathan Bray

Civil and Environmental Engineering
bray@ce.berkeley.edu
510-642-9843

Bruce Buffett

Earth and Planetary Science
bbuffett@berkeley.edu
510-642-1251

Roland Burgmann

Earth and Planetary Science
burgmann@berkeley.edu
510-643-9545

Ken Goldberg

Electrical Engineering and Computer Sciences
goldberg@berkeley.edu
510-643-9565

Raymond Jeanloz

Earth and Planetary Science
jeanloz@uclink.berkeley.edu
510-642-2639

Harriet Lau

Earth and Planetary Science
hcplau@berkeley.edu

Michael Manga

Earth and Planetary Science
mmanga@berkeley.edu
510-643-8532

Burkhard Militzer

Earth and Planetary Science
militzer@berkeley.edu
510-643-7414

Jack Moehle

Civil and Environmental Engineering
moehle@berkeley.edu
510-642-0697

James Rector

Civil and Environmental Engineering
rector@ce.berkeley.edu
510-643-7820

Barbara Romanowicz

Earth and Planetary Science
barbarar@berkeley.edu

Nicholas Sitar

Civil and Environmental Engineering
sitar@berkeley.edu

Kenichi Soga

Civil and Environmental Engineering
soga@berkeley.edu
(510) 664-7534

Taka'aki Taira

Research Seismologist
taira@berkeley.edu

Chi-Yuen Wang

Earth and Planetary Science
chiyuen@berkeley.edu
510-642-2288

Hans-Rudolf Wenk

Earth and Planetary Science
wenk@berkeley.edu
510-642-7431

Operations and Research Staff

Julien Marty

Operations Manager
jmarty@berkeley.edu

Valerie Acton

System Administrator
vacton@berkeley.edu

Andrei Akimov

Applications Programmer
andrei.akimov@berkeley.edu

Zack Alexy

Engineer
zacka@berkeley.edu
510-642-3976

Steve Allen

Applications Programmer
syallen@berkeley.edu
510-643-3898

Mario Aranha

IT Applications Programmer
maranha@berkeley.edu
510-643-3898

Theron Bair

DevOps Engineer
theron.bair@berkeley.edu

Sierra Boyd

Research Data Analyst
osboyd@berkeley.edu

Matthew Carli

Financial Analyst
mcarli@berkeley.edu

Dylan Cembalski

Engineer
cembalski@berkeley.edu
510-619-5365

George Dorian

Engineer
georged@berkeley.edu
510-642-3976

Tal Edgecomb

EEW Outreach and Administrative Coordinator
tale@berkeley.edu

Ivan Henson

IT Applications Manager
ihenson@berkeley.edu
510-664-9029

Angela Lux

Project Scientist
angie.lux@berkeley.edu

Alvaro Medina

Engineer
amedina77@berkeley.edu

Akie Mejia

Akie Mejia

IT Applications Programmer
rfmejia@berkeley.edu

Jonah Merritt

Field Operations Manager
jmerritt@berkeley.edu
510-665-5055

Paul Milligan

Information Systems Analyst
millpaul@berkeley.edu
510-664-5119

Robert Nadeau

Research Seismologist
nadeau@berkeley.edu
510-643-3980

Charley Paffenbarger

IT Systems Administrator
cpaff@berkeley.edu
510-642-5333

Brian Pardini

Systems Administrator
bpardini@berkeley.edu

Aileen (Ellie) Paterson

Administrative Officer, BSL
aileen.paterson@berkeley.edu
510-642-2961

Nicholas Stein

Engineer
nstein@berkeley.edu
510-642-3976

Jennifer Strauss

External Relations Officer
jastrauss@berkeley.edu
510-642-1067

Jennifer Taggart

Web & Ops Developer
jennifer.c.taggart@berkeley.edu

Fabia Terra

Project Manager
terra@berkeley.edu
510-642-5907

Stephen Thompson

IT Systems Manager
stephen.thompson@berkeley.edu
510-664-9177

Christina Valen

Data Analyst
christina.valen@berkeley.edu

Kang Wang

Assistant Researcher
kangwang@berkeley.edu

Junli Zhang

Applications Programmer
junlizhang@berkeley.edu

Stephane Zuzlewski

IT Database Administrator
stephane@berkeley.edu
510-664-9029

Postdocs/Visiting Scientists

Li-Wei Chen

Imaging Earth's Internal Structure, Full-Waveform Tomography, Ocean-Bottom Distributed Acoustic Sensing (DAS), and Seismic Anisotropy.
liwei_chen@berkeley.edu

Yifang Cheng

Seismic source properties, spatiotemporal variation of seismicity, and fault zone structures
chengyif@berkeley.edu

Kelian Dascher-Cousineau

Fault mechanics, earthquake physics, forecasting, geomorphology
kelian.dascher.cousineau@gmail.com

Utpal Kumar

Computational seismology, Geodesy, Geophysical data analysis
utpalkumar@berkeley.edu

Diogo Lourenco

Geodynamics, Earth and other rocky bodies' evolution and dynamics
dlourenco@berkeley.edu

Chao Lyu

Computational seismology, Homogenzied Full Waveform Inversion, Hybrid Wave Numerical Simulation
lyuchao1988@gmail.com

Federico Munch

Upper mantle and transition zone thermo-chemical structure, Probabilistic inverse methods, Seismology, Deep electromagnetic studies, Mineral physics, Mantle water content
fmunch@seismo.berkeley.edu

Artie Rodgers

Earthquake strong motion simulation, Bay Area earthquakes
rodgers7@llnl.gov

Heather Shaddox

Interplay of seismic and aseismic slip on faults, seismic detection of oceanic waves
hshaddox@berkeley.edu

Amy Williamson

Earthquake and tsunami early warning
amy.williamson@berkeley.edu

Yuankun Xu

Yuankun’s work focuses on landslides over the U.S. West Coast. He conducts research using InSAR, field instrumentation, and hydromechanical modeling to understand the physics of landslide processes.
yuankunx@berkeley.edu

Graduate Students

Sevan Adourian

Imaging of the Lowermost Mantle
sevan.adourian@berkeley.edu

Manar Al Asad

Core-Mantle Coupling, Geophysical Flows and Planetary Potential Fields
m.alasad@berkeley.edu

Tyler Cadena

Volcanology
tcadena@berkeley.edu

Rodrigo Chi

Earth's Core Dynamics and Seismic Sources
rodrigo.chi@berkeley.edu

Prajna Das

Seismology
prajnapdas@berkeley.edu

William Davis

Earth and Planetary Sciences
williamjsdavis@berkeley.edu

Claire Doody

Subduction Zone Imaging in Japan
claired@berkeley.edu

Mrinal Dursun


mrinal.dursun@berkeley.edu

Yuancong Gou

Seismology
yuancong_gou@berkeley.edu

Isis Lemus

Active Tectonics and Earthquake Hazard
ilemus@berkeley.edu

Yuexin Li

Earthquake Physics and Crustal Deformation
yuexinli@berkeley.edu

Danielle Lindsay

Geodetic observations, active tectonics, slow earthquakes
danielle.lindsay@berkeley.edu

Savvas Marcou

Real-time Seismology and the MyShake Project
savvas.marcou@berkeley.edu

Sarina Patel

Real-time seismology, Earthquake Hazard, MyShake, Mapping
sarina.patel@berkeley.edu

Zach Smith

Interaction between tectonics and fluid flow
zachary_smith@berkeley.edu

Undergraduate Students

Samantha Goldstein

Seismicity of Foreshocks and Mainshocks in California
samgoldstein@berkeley.edu

Yair Morales

Earthquake Early Warning, Real-time Seismology
yair-morales@berkeley.edu

Administrative Staff (Shared with Earth and Planetary Sciences)

Aileen (Ellie) Paterson

Administrative Officer, BSL
aileen.paterson@berkeley.edu
510-642-2961

David Elvins

Research Administrator, ERSO
elvins@berkeley.edu

Rachel Kowalik

Community Engagement Facilitator & CIDER Manager, EPS
rkowalik@berkeley.edu

Heather Murthy

Research Administrator, ERSO
murthy2019@berkeley.edu

Veronica Padilla

Management Services Officer, EPS
vmp@berkeley.edu
510-642-4540

Drew Vaeth

Budget Officer, EPS
drewcv@berkeley.edu
510-642-2727

Anthony Vitan

Director of Facilities, MPS Dean's Office
ajvitan@berkeley.edu
(P)510-642-2242 (C)510-334-5068

ERSO Regional Services Human Resources